Tomorrow, I will breathe a sigh of relief.

Lord willing, I will walk up the stairs to the admissions office here at Southern Seminary, hand in a sample research paper, and breathe a long sigh of relief that all of my doctoral applications will finally be in. Some of you know this already, but applying to doctoral programs is a lot of work. I still have interviews to give and a field essay to write, but hopefully the smoke will clear in a little less than two months, and I will finally know where we will plan to spend the next 3 to 5 years of our lives.

I have already been accepted to Dallas Theological Seminary’s Ph.D. program, stage 1. Basically, DTS stage 1 is taking a year to pursue the equivalent of a second master’s degree before (hopefully) entering stage 2, which is the real Ph.D. program. It is the only program of its kind that I have ever seen.

I have applied to Wheaton College, Trinity Evangelical Divinity School, and I am now finishing up my application here. A while back I pondered applying to Baylor, but after surveying the program and the faculty, I decided that my theological interests would not be best served there, though it is no doubt a very good program. It also seems like a very competitive program to get into, so my hat’s off to Myles, who is currently enduring the flames of Baylor Ph.D. affliction.

I have been through the rationale for choosing each school thousands of times, and two clear preferences have emerged. However, I will refrain from sharing which ones until I know which schools have accepted me and which schools haven’t.

We are getting ready for a new chapter in our lives, and it is exciting and terrifying all at the same time. But far, far more exciting and terrifying is the fact that March 28th (Joni’s due date) continues to approach ever so rapidly. When I am lying on my death bed, what I will want most of all is the warm touch of my wife’s and children’s hands. The cold stare of a diploma won’t mean much by then.

5 Responses to “Tomorrow, I will breathe a sigh of relief.”

  1. Jeanne Damoff Says:

    “When I am lying on my death bed, what I will want most of all is the warm touch of my wife’s and children’s hands. The cold stare of a diploma won’t mean much by then.”

    This is a true and beautiful sentiment. But, if it helps keep your engine stoked, imagine all the people who’s lives you will touch once your education is completed. They may not gather around your death bed, but they’ll probably come up and shake your hand in heaven. 🙂

    Did you know I’m choreographing the ETBU musical and getting to work with your adorable baby brother? What a charmer! He’s so much fun.

    Praying for you, Joni, and the baby.

    Love, Jeanne

  2. Aaron Says:

    No, I didn’t know that. I mean, I knew that he was in the musical, but I didn’t know that you were choreographing it. That’s neat.

    Thanks for your prayers.

  3. Myles Says:

    good luck on the admissions process. it’s a nightmare, and i’m glad to be on the road. don’t lose your soul in the process, and by that i mean take time to breathe. one bite at a time.

  4. Dee Says:

    I’ll be excited to see where you end up. You’ll make an excellent scholar.

  5. MarkP Says:

    God told me, you are to move to dallas.

Leave a Reply

