What’s Going On With Us

Joni was put on bed rest today. She has been having mild, irregular, yet frequent contractions. Her doctor said she has already begun to dilate. Today she is at 36 weeks and one day of pregnancy. The doctor hopes to keep her on medication to subdue the contractions for about one more week, after which I guess we’ll let nature run its course. It is impossible to predict, but signs indicate that our son will probably come before the 28th, which is his due date. The biggest concern is that his lungs may not be fully developed when he arrives (if he comes a few weeks early, but even then it is entirely possible that he could be just fine), so please pray for him. I am so thankful that progress in the medical field has made it very likely that a baby born at this point has a very good chance of survival and good health, but as John Piper has written with regard to cancer, we must seek comfort from God rather than from the odds.

Meanwhile, I’m taking care of Joni, taking care of all things domestic (well, I guess I’m getting by in that regard), taking classes, pastoring, and working part time at McDonald’s. It has been a challenge to juggle so much, so I need prayers too. Also, I have a Ph.D. entrance exam and interview scheduled for Monday. That would be nerve-racking if I were not too busy to dwell on it.

So, if you can pray specifically,
– Pray that Joni and our son would be protected from harm, and that he would be delivered safely into this world;
– Pray that we would be prepared to receive this incredible gift, to care for him, provide for him, and raise him to know and love the Lord;
– Pray that I would have the strength to dedicate myself to all of my tasks, to make the best use of my time, and to glorify God through them all.
– Pray that I would prepare and give my best effort on Monday, and that God would determine the results as he wills.

Blessings to you all.

6 Responses to “What’s Going On With Us”

  1. Jeanne Damoff Says:

    I’m praying for you, Joni, and your son. Your attitude is a blessing, Aaron.

    Love, Jeanne

  2. Craig Says:

    me too.

  3. The Table Guy Says:

    Praying for you and Joni…

  4. MarkP Says:

    Will pray for you in the morning… Sure love you two…

  5. Ali Says:

    God bless you guys at this time.

  6. Myles Says:

    ditto. i take it this is at Southern?

Leave a comment