The GOP and 2008

I have been thinking a lot about politics recently, for obvious reasons. I hope you, my vast multitude of adoring readers, do not mind one more post on the subject (yes, I do believe that there are a lot of you out there, even though I have no proof of that; unlike Craig, I will refrain from installing a site meter to verify my hunch, or should I say, stroke my ego?).

I saw John McCain on This Week with George Stephanopoulos this morning. I have to be honest: he swayed me this morning. I have not been a big McCain fan, but this is what I heard this morning:

– he is pro-life
– he wants Roe vs. Wade overturned by the Supreme Court so that the issue of abortion can be sent back to the states
– he favors appointing strict constructionist judges who will interpret the Constitution and not legislate from the bench
– he opposes same-sex marriage and civil unions, although he is not opposed to allowing people to make legal arrangements (such as power of attorney, etc.) with whomever they might choose (a position that I think makes the most sense, because it addresses the concerns of gay-rights advocates without creating special rights for homosexuals)
– he favors small government
– he wants a restraint on government spending (of course, everybody says this, but I think he has some credibility when he makes this claim)
– he favors low taxes (he did oppose the Bush tax cuts both times, but the first time he opposed them because they were not accompanied by a cut in spending; the second time he opposed them because we were in the middle of a war; now that they are in place, he favors extending them)
– he believes victory in Iraq is possible, and he is willing to take an unpopular position (namely, that we need more troops in Iraq to win) in order to do what he can to see that that happens
– what may have impressed me the most was the fact that he actually answered the questions that he was asked. I recognize that many questions in politics require lenghty, nuanced answers (as do many questions in theology). But too often politicians, instead of offering nuanced answers to difficult questions, simply answer questions that they weren’t asked or come up with some lame excuse for not answering questions (“Well, I believe we should focus on the future and not on the past…”). McCain answered some tough, polarizing questions, and he clearly defined his positions in doing so. This is a breath of fresh air in a political climate dominated by ambiguity.

McCain may be my guy in 2008. I would certainly favor him over Rudy Giuliani. Of course, I would like to see Mike Huckabee (governor of Arkansas) run for President. Also, J.C. Watts might be a good candidate as well. Of course, a black candidate may have trouble getting elected, but if he runs against Hillary Clinton the country would be forced to choose someone other than a white male, so that might be to his advantage. Other names that come to mind are Mitt Romney, Bill Frist, and Newt Gingrich. I doubt that Gingrich has any chance at all, nor do I believe he is qualified to be President in spite of his good political sense. Frist ticked off conservatives like me when he came out in support of embryonic stem cell research. Romney’s biggest political liability is probably his Mormonism. I wouldn’t necessarily mind a Mormon President, but I don’t know that he could stir up a lot of support among evangelical Christians. And, of course, there is always Jeb Bush, but I don’t think anyone named “Bush” has any chance in a run for the White House for some years to come.

From where I sit, McCain has the advantage. Of course, only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

