Things Are Changing…Again

For those readers who are interested in what’s going on in our lives, I thought I would give you an update.  We are planning another move.  We are heading back to Louisville.

We have lived in Milton, Kentucky (approximately 50 miles northeast of Louisville), in the parsonage of our church since June of 2006.  Now Joni’s sister has been hired as a nurse at a hospital in Louisville, so she will be moving there (she has lived all over the place recently, but her last permanent residence was in Arkansas).  We decided to split the cost of a rental house with her.  This will help her find an affordable place to live, and it will help us by providing us the opportunity to be back in Louisville.  I want to be back there so that I can be close to the seminary.  For the past two years I have commuted to school, but now that I am beginning to focus on my dissertation, I want to be near the seminary library for research purposes. 

This move will not change our ministry at the church.  I will continue to serve as pastor, and we will commute to the church on Sundays and Wednesdays.  For a part-time position, this is an adequate arrangement, and it is what I did for about the first three years of my ministry here.  I announced our plans to the church tonight, and they seemed to understand.  In fact, this move will actually save the church money because they won’t be paying for our utilities anymore.  Of course, that means we will be paying for them, but we expect that Joni will be able to pick up some work part-time in Louisville, probably in the area of child care.  Likewise, I plan to look into substitute teaching one day a week, or something of that nature to bring in a little extra cash.  We’re excited.  I enjoy the country, but my heart has been in Louisville these past two years.  It is a great place to live.  I have missed it, and I can’t wait to go back.

I have now completed two years of work on my Ph.D.  This fall I have only one class to take, which is a two-hour colloquium (all Ph.D. students have to take a total of five colloquia, and this is my fifth and final one).  Besides that, I am preparing for comprehensive exams in November.  After comps I plan to submit a prospectus for my dissertation.  Then I have one more J-term seminar to take in January before I will officially be at the “all but dissertation” stage.  My tentative plan right now is to work on the dissertation throughout 2009 and then graduate in May of 2010.  That will be a total of four years on this degree, and a grand total of eleven years of post-high school education.  Then I will be done.  I think by then it will be time to retire.

3 Responses to “Things Are Changing…Again”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Did Joni read that line about retiring? I’m excited for you to get the house. Looking forward to seeing it.

  2. Luke A. Says:

    I hope the move goes well! Everytime I read your blog and you mention “school” I keep thinking..huh? Is this guy gonna be a professional student or what? Then I read about retirement…it’s about time!

    Tell Joni and Sarah I said hi and I hope to see you again sometime. Take care.

  3. Aaron Says:

    Hey, Luke. I haven’t seen you around here in a while.

    Now, when I say “retirement,” I mean the real thing. You know, straight from school to retirement. Skip right over the career.

Leave a Reply

