Personal Update

Life has changed dramatically for us since the last time I gave you a personal update.  We are now back in Louisville, loving our new house and location.  We have a great deal more space than we did in our trailer in Milton.

And it turns out, we’re going to need it.  We just found out a week ago that we’re expecting another baby!  The news came as a surprise to us, but it was a welcome surprise.  We had originally planned for Joni to pick up a part-time job to help supplement our income, but this new development has canceled out that idea.  But God has been gracious.  On the very day that we found out Joni was pregnant, I found out about a job opening for Latin tutors at a classical school here in Louisville.  I inquired about the position and got hired the same day (they needed someone quickly). 

I teach third and fourth year Latin students on Tuesday and Thursday mornings.  The students range from about the 7th to the 10th grade.  They are wonderful students who work hard, are well-behaved, and know their material well.  I am not in any way an expert on Latin, but I believe that I will be eventually.  Nothing makes you learn a subject like being responsible to teach it!  So this is going to help me a great deal on my dissertation, for which I plan to consult a number of theologians and documents from the Middle Ages and Reformation era.  Plus, I get paid for it! 

Life is very different now from what it was just three weeks ago.  Some changes have been expected, and some have been unexpected.  But the loving hand of providence has brought us here and will lead us on to the end. 

‘Tis grace hath brought me safe thus far, and grace will lead me home.–John Newton

5 Responses to “Personal Update”

  1. Brandon Sandifer Says:

    Congratulations on the new baby!

  2. fenderpooh Says:

    Thanks, Brandon. I don’t think you have ever commented on here before. Are you a regular reader?

    How are things going in South Carolina?

  3. Brandon Sandifer Says:

    I have your blog in my feeds on Google Reader. I don’t comment on any blogs much. Your posts are very helpful. Things are going very well in SC. Slowly plugging along. I am preaching through the Gospel of Mark and I have seen the Lord doing some good things in His people. We are developing a healthier understanding of church membership. As far as the family goes, Mandy and I are expecting our first child in February. We are very excited! How is the Ph. D coming? Have you begun writing your dissertation?

  4. fenderpooh Says:

    Congratulations, you guys! That’s great news!

    I’m also glad to hear about your ministry. Be faithful to the Word of God; God will bless the faithful preaching of his Word.

    I am almost to the dissertation only stage. This semester I am finishing up colloquium and taking comps. I am ready to focus on the dissertation, but I am not quite there yet.

  5. Luke A. Says:

    Congrats!!

Leave a Reply

