A Taste of My Ancestral Heritage

My last name is O’Kelley.  That means I have some Irish blood in me, though I have never really explored that very much.  I grew up in Texas, and my paternal grandfather’s family came from Georgia.  We were already well-assimilated into the American South by the time I came along.  The Irish have a much more noticeable presence here in Louisville, where there is a sizeable Catholic population.  St. Patrick’s Day actually means something here.  When I tell people my name, they understandably assume that, as a person of Irish descent living in a town with a distinctive Irish subculture, I would be in touch with that subculture.  I am not.  (For one thing, I’m a Southern Baptist.  You connect the dots.) 

But I’m hoping to change that.  Here is a small taste of Irish culture, brought to you by an American, Dennis Leary.  I first heard this song when I was in college, and I have always loved it:

If, while listening, you didn’t catch some of the lyrics, you can find them here.  Plus, if you want to pay $9.99 a month, you can even make this song a ringtone!

3 Responses to “A Taste of My Ancestral Heritage”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Part of your heritage is English if that makes you feel better. Their songs may not be any better.

  2. fenderpooh Says:

    If anyone is wondering why someone else is telling me what part of my heritage is, Kathy is my mom. Her side is the English side.

    Actually, I rather enjoy both Irish and English folk songs. Many of our best Christmas carols come from England.

  3. Darrel Says:

    I was wondering why that wasnt posted on the blog lol.

Leave a Reply

