What Is Happening to Us?

“So this is how liberty dies…with thundrous applause.”–Padme Skywalker, Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

I find the following video incredibly disturbing (yes, there is a brief interlude meant to make a salient point, but even without that, the video is disturbing enough):

I am neither a prophet nor the son of a prophet, but what I see unfolding before us is unlike anything that I, or anyone in America, has ever seen.  The kind of blind, unthinking loyalty that Barack Obama has inspired has, to my knowledge, never happened in the history of American politics.  Brett Joshpe has been thinking exactly what I have been thinking.

Add to this the extreme left’s penchant for silencing criticism, and you have a recipe for a brave new America.  I am by no means saying that all Obama supporters are brainwashed cultists.  Nor am I saying that Obama’s own motivation is to become a Kool-Aid distributor.  Let’s hope not.

8 Responses to “What Is Happening to Us?”

  1. Cory Says:

    Dude. You’ve really got to come up for air outside the GOP bubble sometimes…

    It’s part of the political landscape of American ON BOTH SIDES. This isn’t an Obama phenomenon. Have you seen all the YouTube videos of McCain supporters being completely hateful and vigilant? Or being passionate that Obama is a terrorist or Muslim?

    As Christians, we’ve got to be challenging both parties as well as the entire political system. And we have to be people of Truth.

  2. fenderpooh Says:

    I have criticized those who have criticized Obama based solely on his name. But we’re talking about two different things here. You’re talking about people who are showing hatred toward Obama, not blind devotion to McCain.

    I’m talking about children singing hymns about a man. That is just plain creepy, and it is something I have never seen in a political race in my lifetime.

  3. Cory Glover Says:

    I concede that point about the hymn…it is odd. But what else should we expect in a hyper-media culture? Wouldn’t “I like Ike” have been a really cool video with the “like Mike” (Jordan) theme song playing?

    But you also have to believe that there are those blindly devoted to McCain…and if not, come back down to East Texas sometime! “Blind” is probably the least detrimental thing I could say about some of the rabid McCain supporters around here…they blindly ignore facts in their delusion. I’d much rather have someone like you, with rational thought and the ability to see the error of both sides, writing letters to the local paper…

  4. fenderpooh Says:

    I guess what I’m saying is that the Obama “movement” (not necessarily attributable to Obama’s own goals) has taken this thing to a new level. Louis Farrakhan called him the Messiah!

    The whole thing has an aura of messianism around it that even the most dyed-in-the-wool McCainite doesn’t exhibit. Personally, I would like to see Obama address this. First, he should denounce Louis Farrakhan’s statement, and then he should tell the orchestrators of the children’s choirs that he appreciates their support, but he believes their actions are misguided and put him on a pedestal that is a bit too high. Instead of talking about how he is going to stop the oceans from rising, I would prefer to see Obama himself come down to earth. That would put me more at ease with him.

  5. Cory Glover Says:

    Well said…

    I’ve got a deal for you: I’ll email Obama to do exactly that…and you email McCain to soften the tone of his followers’ hate-speech! 🙂

    We can change the whole campaign! (Or get ignored completely)

    Hey, at least the video isn’t a church youth group!

  6. fenderpooh Says:

    I would email McCain, but he is already doing that. He got booed the other day by his own supporters because he took the microphone away from an Obama-basher. McCain really is a first-class guy.

    Yes, I’m glad the video isn’t a church youth group.

  7. Ali Says:

    Am I right in thinking the quote from Star Wars was widely understood as a poke at the Bush Administration during the Iraq war?

    If so, it’s ironic to see it reapplied in this situation.

    Even if I’m wrong, I suspect George Lucas wouldn’t have thought it would ever apply to the Democrats!

  8. fenderpooh Says:

    Ali,

    Some people took a few lines from Star Wars that way. Whether George Lucas meant it that way or not, I can’t say. I hope that they were just lines that were originally written as part of the story without any reference to contemporary political events. I hope George Lucas had enough respect for the integrity of his story to refrain from that kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

