Some Encouraging Signs

It appears that Florida, Arizona, and California have all passed bans on same-sex marriage.  This is especially significant in California, where the state’s supreme court legalized same-sex marriage earlier this year.  Proposition 8 is an amendment to the state’s Constitution that appears to invalidate the court’s decision and nullify the thousands of marriages that have taken place since (including that of Ellen Degeneres).  Furthermore, Arkansas passed a measure that bars unmarried couples (including same-sex couples) from adopting children.  By far, Americans continue to affirm the divine, creational design of marriage.   

My Senator, Mitch McConnell (R-KY), won a fiercely contested campaign for reelection.  When President Bush leaves in January, Senator McConnell will become the most important Republican in Washington.  And he will retain enough votes in the Senate to filibuster, which will force the Democratic majority to compromise on many issues.  Our government is set up to prevent sweeping changes from occurring too quickly, and I think that’s a good thing for both parties and for the nation as a whole. 

We are not a leftist nation.  We remain a center-right nation that has happened to elect a leftist President when the conditions were overwhelmingly favorable to him.  And the most encouraging thing about that is that President-elect Obama knows it.

4 Responses to “Some Encouraging Signs”

  1. Cory Glover Says:

    I disagree with you and Arkansas on the adoption issue.

    Having seen it from the perspective of my wife who works in foster care, I think this ban is a far worse evil. I blogged about this a long time ago, basically stating that a loving same-sex family is better than the foster system any day…and that I didn’t turn out to be an alcohol, wife-abusing man because I was raised in a home like that.

    I understand where you’re coming from, but it’s hard to see kids in the system the way we have and not wish for more options on the table.

  2. fenderpooh Says:

    Cory,

    Were you raised in a same-sex home? That’s what it sounds like you said; if so, I’m surprised that I didn’t already know that.

    I do understand the argument that, in an imperfect system, some options are better than others. But I fear for the long-term consequences that will result in a society when homosexual families are legitimized. It’s not just a matter of comparing one child raised in a same-sex home to another raised in foster homes. It’s a matter of what will happen to the family in general and what kind of impact all children of society will experience when a society overturns the creational design of marriage. This issue is every bit as much about my son as it is about the orphans who need a home.

  3. Cory Says:

    No, I wasn’t…I meant that I didn’t turn out to be just like my father by growing up in a rough home.

  4. fenderpooh Says:

    Oh, I see what you mean. I remember you talking about your father several years ago when he died. You are right that no child is determined by the environment in which he or she is raised. But I think this has to do more with what society wants to legitimize or not legitimize.

Leave a Reply

