Troubling

Read this. And then read Revelation 13:11-15.

There is some ambiguity in the word “antichrist.”  The Greek prefix “anti” can mean “against,” as we often use it.  But it can also mean “instead of.”  In truth, the two ideas are really not that far apart.  The antichrist is against Christ specifically because he attempts to replace him. 

I can’t help but find it a little ironic that only days after Obama himself, speaking at Georgetown University, stood in front of a covered image of Jesus, now an artist plans to unveil a portrait of Obama with outstretched arms and a crown of thorns on his head.

And so, whether willingly or not, Obama continues to play the role of surrogate messiah to deluded souls on the left wing of society.  At the very least (and unlike Paul and Barnabas in Acts 14:14-15), Obama has not expended much energy to quell the idolatry that is promoted in his name.  And that is probably what is most troubling about him.

2 Responses to “Troubling”

  1. Ali Says:

    How widespread is this attitude? I haven’t seen much explicit Obama worship for a while. Is it only the fringe left or is it pretty much everywhere?

    (By the way, my hard drive died and I lost your email address along with it. Can you shoot me an email so I can get your address again? Thanks).

  2. Aaron Says:

    Explicit worship of Obama is rare. But idolatry is often a subtle sin. There are many, many deluded people who, though they have not (yet) called Obama “messiah,” are still placing all of their hopes for their own well-being in him. And this is entirely in keeping with the way he has presented himself to the public.

    I am reminded of the woman at an Obama rally prior to the election who told a reporter, “I won’t have to worry about putting gas in my car. I won’t have to worry about paying my mortgage.” I doubt that she has an Obama shrine in her home to which she prays every day, but her attitude is not that far removed from such a ridiculous notion.

    One thing is clear to me: there have been popular political figures before in this country, but I have never seen this kind of blind allegiance to one man. Prior to Obama, I had never heard of children singing hymns about their leaders…except in other countries like Germany in the 1940’s.

Leave a Reply

